INEC recognises Machina as winner of Yobe North APC primary and not senate President Ahmad Lawan

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Bashir Sherrif Machina has been recognized by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as the winner of the All Progressives Congress ticket for the Yobe North Senatorial District ahead of the 2023 election.

Daily Trust reported that on Friday, June 24, Machina stormed INEC’s office in Yobe State to obtain a certified true copy of the primary election, which the commission monitored.

In the document, it was stated that Machina scored 289 votes out of the 300 votes cast by the delegates.

The document certified by the electoral office on June 23, 2022, did not mention Ahmad Lawan, the Senate President.

This is coming amid a controversy surrounding who truly won the ticket. Machina has insisted that Lawan who took a shot at the presidential ticket of the APC did not participate in the primary.

Machina who also claimed that he’s been approached by some people to relinquish the ticket has also vowed not to relinquish it.


Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.