The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (), in other words, called the North Atlantic Alliance, is an intergovernmental military alliance of 30 countries with basically 28 European countries and 2 North American countries.

NATO was established in the aftermath of World War II, and it enforces the North Atlantic Treaty, which was signed on April 4, 1949.

The organization is headquartered in Brussels, Belgium, and constitutes a system of collective security, where its independent member states agree to mutual defence in response to an attack by any external party.

The admission of new member states has increased the alliance from the original 12 countries to 30 with North Macedonia being the most recent member state added to NATO on March 27, 2020, since the organization was founded.

READ ALSO:  Who is Marie Snyder? Mom Admits She Tortured & Starved Daughters, Then Buried Them In Backyard

NATO has no parliaments, laws, enforcement, and no power to punish individual citizens which hinders the power and authority of the organization's commander due to the lack of its sovereignty.

What nationality is the Secretary General of NATO?

General Jens Stoltenberg is the Secretary General of NATO. Stoltenberg has since 2014 held this post. He is a Norwegian who hails from Oslo, Norway.



Related Posts

I am a positive and a critical thinker who strives to achieve the optimum standard and possibly be the best. I have the ability to relate to all individuals, enjoy learning new ways of doing things, embrace new challenges and can work effectively and efficiently under pressure. I am a fast learner and can easily adapt to situations. I am keen to embracing new opportunities. Writing is my passion.

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.