What Numbers Have The Chiefs Retired?

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The Kansas City Chiefs are a professional American football team based in Kansas City, Missouri. They compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league’s American Football Conference (AFC) West division.

The Chiefs were founded in 1960 as the Dallas Texans, and they have won three AFL championships and one Super Bowl championship in Super Bowl LIV in 2020.

The Kansas City Chiefs play their home games at Arrowhead Stadium, which is widely considered one of the loudest and most intimidating stadiums in the NFL.

The team has had a number of notable players throughout its history, including Len Dawson, Derrick Thomas, Willie Lanier, Tony Gonzalez, and current stars such as quarterback Patrick Mahomes and tight end Travis Kelce.

The Chiefs have had four head coaches since 2000: Gunther Cunningham, Dick Vermeil, Todd Haley, and current head coach Andy Reid. Reid has led the team to several playoff appearances, including the Super Bowl championship in 2020.

The Chiefs have a strong and passionate fan base, known as the “Sea of Red,” who support the team through thick and thin.

What Numbers Have The Chiefs Retired?

The Kansas City Chiefs have retired several jersey numbers in honour of their most outstanding players and coaches. The following numbers have been officially retired by the team:

  • 3: Jan Stenerud, Placekicker (1967-1979)
  • 10: Len Dawson, Quarterback (1963-1975)
  • 16: Len Dawson, Quarterback (1963-1975)
  • 18: Marty Ballint, Quarterback (1962-1971)
  • 20: Abner Haynes, Running Back (1960-1964)
  • 28: Curtis McClinton, Running Back (1962-1969)
  • 33: Mike Garrett, Running Back (1965-1970)
  • 34: Joe Delaney, Running Back (1981-1983)
  • 63: Willie Lanier, Linebacker (1967-1977)
  • 78: Buck Buchanan, Defensive Tackle (1963-1975)
  • 86: Otis Taylor, Wide Receiver (1965-1975)
  • 89: Tony Gonzalez, Tight End (1997-2008)

Note: Jersey number 12 is also unofficially retired by the team in honor of the team’s fans.


Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.