When Was The Declaration Of Independence Written?

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Although the Lee Resolution’s independence-related part wasn’t ratified until July 2, Congress created a five-person committee on June 10 to draft a declaration of independence for the colonies.

Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Robert R. Livingston, and Roger Sherman made up the committee; Jefferson was in charge of the writing.

After Adams and Franklin made significant revisions to his drafts of the declaration between June 11 and June 28, Jefferson presented the manuscript to Congress after the Lee Resolution’s independence clause was adopted on July 2.

The entirety of July 3 and the majority of July 4 were dedicated to the congressional revision process. The Declaration was finally approved on July 4th in the late afternoon.

When Was The Declaration Of Independence Written?

The Declaration of Independence was first drafted by Thomas Jefferson in June 1776. Eighty-six amendments were later made by John Adams (1735-1826), Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790), other members of the committee tasked with drafting the declaration, and Congress.

Source: Vimbuzz.com

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.